Shattered

This one is about the warpath I’ve been on since I left the military, and the one woman I loved was all that could stop me from wrecking everything. Lots of metaphors, but it makes it sound more badass. It’s about 3 years old as of this publish date.

____________________

I walked the red sand of another world.

I fought in the pits of Hell.

I swam through the depths of a lost empire,

But I have no tale to tell.

I don’t exist in this life that you know,

I’ve taken so many more.

I’ve conquered kings and fell to simple men,

I’ve become what I abhor.


I’ve shattered you, I’ve shattered me,

But I won’t fix what you failed to see.

When I wake up, where will I be?

I’ve lost my way, now set me free!


I’ve seen more and done more than anyone,

I’ve learned we are all alone.

I’ve lived and died alongside mice and men,

I forgot more than I’ve known.

I’ve refused the hands of gods and devils,

I’ve ordered legions to die.

I stood at the edge of the universe,

Shaking my head, why oh why?


I’ve shattered you, I’ve shattered me,

But I can’t fix what you fail to see.

When I wake up, where will I be?

I’ve lost my way, now set me free!


I’ve seen inside of the souls of damned,

The suffering they endure.

I bring my wrath to this blackened world,

And condemn all the impure.

A life worth living I once called my own,

There was no such thing as Hell.

I remind you now of the pain you caused,

Darkness forever we dwell.


I’ve shattered you, I’ve shattered me,

But I can’t fix what you fail to see.

When I wake up, where will I be?

I’ve lost my way, now set me free!

Leave a Reply

