I’ll Mend Another Day

This was a hard one to write. I was suffering from severe depression, and I had one of those chest-ripping anxiety attacks that lasted all day. Still, my ex was going through a very difficult time, and I was able to set aside my problems for her.

____________________

I’ve made a million mistakes,

Fought when I should have flown.

Waited when I should have left,

Gone away, and not come home.


I thought I solved my problems,

Considered every move,

Tried thinking before I act,

Not set myself up to lose.


I’d make every mistake again,

Walk the same million miles,

You don’t care what’s in my head,

It’s my heart that makes you smile.

You’ll never see the world in grey,

Today is yours, I’ll mend another day.


The world’s so dark and untamed,

Yet it all shines so new.

You make me take your hand in mine,

To share this life with you.


Wind runs through my graying hair,

Sunlight on my ashen face.

The colors all around me,

My soul now has a place.


You don’t care about yesterday,

Or who I used to be.

I want to live forever now,

As long as you’re with me.

You’ll never see the world in grey,

Today is yours, I’ll mend another day.

Leave a Reply

